Latest post Thu, Sep 25 2008 11:35 PM by switthaus. 18 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Sep 24 2008 11:39 PM

• Dreamer D
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Sep 18 2007
    • NYC
    • Posts 145
    • Points 2,090

What should a beginner charge?

Hello everyone,

I'm a student, and have been creating videos for a friend of mine for free, so I can gain experience.  These have been a series of shorts about a creative project she's doing, and she has them up on her website.  I don't mind doing this for free because she's a good friend for many years and I feel I have so-o-o much to learn.  I'm not yet ready to "go pro."

However, I had a friendly argument with a classmate/friend of mine who has an opportunity in front of him.  He, like me, is almost finished in our program at school and was recently approached by someone who wants him to do some video shooting & editing - it's a demo reel for a performer.  The guy was vague about compensation (either that or my friend was too timid to ask).  My classmate feels like he should just do this for free and I told him no.  It is quite similar to what I do for my other friend, so he used that as a reason why he shouldn't charge this guy.  I tried to tell him my case is different -- I was the one who approached my artistic friend and asked if she would let me shoot what she does and make videos documenting her work, and she signed release forms giving me the rights to everything, which I intend to use for a short documentary of my own later on.  The little snippets we put on her site is good practice for me.  But this guy approached Jimmy (my classmate) after seeing some of his work, and so Jimmy would be a shooter/editor for hire.