Latest post Thu, Oct 30 2008 4:52 PM by Brickwad. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Oct 30 2008 2:34 PM

Combining 16:9 and 4:3 source....?

I've been editing video for a particular client now for over 3 years.  Each year some of the previous years footage expires (product changes) and some is carried forward and re-used.  Well, all the past footage was shot 4:3.  I just got the drive in with this years footage and it's all 16:9. Confused

Is it possible to adjust either the 4:3 or the 16:9 in order to use both ratios in the same edit?  If so, could someone please point me in the direction of a tutorial or explanation of this?

Basically I have this huge footage library from the past years and I want to be able to use the 16:9 footage to add to this library and use for sequences which already contain 4:3 footage.

I'd prefer to end up with 16:9 as the final ratio if possible.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

• Thu, Oct 30 2008 2:48 PM In reply to

Re: Combining 16:9 and 4:3 source....?

Probably the easiest thing to do is to drop a mask effect from the image group onto the 4:3 footage and adjust the mask for a letterbox that matches the 16:9 frame. You could use the 16:9 letterbox in the reformat group of effects, however this will distort the proportions of the 4:3 image, while the mask effect will just crop it.

Newscutter Nitris DX 9.5.3.5 * Media Composer 5.5.3.6 (At Home on PC running XP Pro) * Symphony 6.5.2.1 (At home on MacBook Pro3,1 running 10.7.2) * Interplay... [view my complete system specs]

Larry Rubin

Senior Editor

The Pentagon Channel

www.pentagonchannel.mil

• Thu, Oct 30 2008 2:50 PM In reply to

Basically, you have to make a choice. 

Will the final product be presented at 16:9 or 4:3?

If 4:3, you edit as you normally would then Pan and Scan the 16:9 footage.

If 16:9, you edit as you normally would and Reformat the 4:3 footage to the 16:9 aspect.