Latest post Thu, Apr 15 2021 7:53 AM by Pulck. 38 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (39 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Aug 19 2020 3:02 PM

• Pulck
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, May 26 2006
    • London, UK
    • Posts 159
    • Points 2,030

Is it possible to offline in Avid MC and conform/online in Premiere Pro?

I am an offline editor and I'm soon to be working with an online post house which works entirely with Premiere Pro.

I'm not very familiar with the latest version of Premiere, but before I bite the bullet and start learning, I thought it worth asking if anyone here has experience offlining in Avid and then onlining in Premiere.

If the idea alone induces headaches, then I know what I'm upto for the next fortnight....

• Thu, Aug 20 2020 11:08 PM In reply to

• NYnutz
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Nov 25 2009
    • New York City
    • Posts 409
    • Points 4,895

Re: Is it possible to offline in Avid MC and conform/online in Premiere Pro?

yes, you can do it. Before media composer supported UHD+ and custom rasters, this was the only workflow to online and export in greater than HD sizes, though resolve was probably more talked about.  

however, as great as AAF can be, it still does not support some effects or effect parameters, and some media that lacks the correct metadata may need to be cut back into the sequence instead of relinked. Your online editor may also have difficulties with avid titles if they have not been mixed down, though my suspision is that anyone doing this kinda of work in creative cloud is likely going to strip out any avid titles and rebuild them in after effects then dynamic link them in a premiere timeline.  

whatever you do, make sure you spit out a reference video export with all layers included prior to sending off the AAF. 

Dave

Post Production Infrastructure Engineer

"A very big network"

• Fri, Aug 21 2020 7:54 AM In reply to

• Pulck
    • Not Ranked
    • London, UK
    • Posts 159