Latest post Wed, Feb 13 2013 4:02 PM by Marianna. 24 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (25 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jul 30 2011 1:14 AM

• Brian
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 56
    • Points 760

Feature Request: colapse a sequence into a "master multi-clip"

As a reaiity TV editor, I am often given footage that does not have locked timecode, so in order to create my multi-clips I first stack all my footage in a single master timeline representing all the day's footage (usually A-Cam on V1, B-Cam on V2, etc.), sync the clips acordingly and then I have to make individual multi-clips for everytime a new clip starts.

What would be AWESOME, is if I could just colapse the sequence that I stacked and synced all my clips on into a "master multi-clip" so that V1 became angle 1, V2 became angle 2, etc. This would save a lot of time.

Currently, I feel that I'm not always sure what angle a given clip will become when grouped with other clips. This new method would make it easier to organize your shots so that, for example, wide shots are always angle 1, close ups are angle 2, etc.

Whenever a clip finished, that angle would simply go black until a new clip started on the video layer.    Also the ability to then sub-clip out from the master multi-clip would be very useful.  Lastly, the ability to then "go into" a master-multi-clip so that it could easily be edited could be very powerful.

I have no idea how difficult this would be to pull off technically, but I'm sure there are many, many editors (and assistant editors) out there who could use this feature.

Thanks for listening!

Brian

Mac Pro, 12-core Westmere, 2.66 GHz, 16GB, 4.5TB RAID, OSX Lion 7.2, Media Composer 5.5.3, 27" LED Cinema Display, Matrox Mini 02, 20" JVC Broadcast... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Jul 30 2011 5:32 AM In reply to

Re: Feature Request: colapse a sequence into a "master multi-clip"