Latest post Wed, Feb 19 2014 8:12 AM by Pat Horridge. 18 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 15 2014 2:04 AM

• steinpom
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jan 15 2014
    • Posts 7
    • Points 135

AMA link

I am new to Media Composer 7. 

I have the 7.04 version, using Mac's Mavericks

I am trying to bring in some files from and external hard drive, using AMA links. They do appear into the bin, but they cannot be played. A message appears saying: " Exception: Failed to get the sample position from the AMA plug-in"

The files I am trying to link to are .MOV, filmed on a Sony HVR Z1U,

codecs: Apple ProRes 422 (HQ), linear PCM

Any suggestion on how to solve this??

Thank you

• Wed, Jan 15 2014 5:35 AM In reply to

• mjolnarn
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 8 2006
    • Sweden
    • Posts 13,346
    • Points 159,335

Re: AMA link

That cam only save to tapes so someone have created files from those tapes.

Depending on the skill of that someone those files could be good or not that good.

What is the file info from within Quicktime, the Z1 is shooting HDV.

Also check your Avid version once more so that you are using the latest 7.03 together with Mavericks.

Mac: 17" Macbook Pro i7 2,66 ghz with 8Gb Ram, 500gb 7200rpm drive___ PC_NEW Win10 Pro Mbo Asus Rampage IV Black CPU Ivy Bridge-E 4960X ( = 12 x 4... [view my complete system specs]

Tomas 

• Wed, Jan 15 2014 6:52 AM In reply to

• steinpom
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 7
    • Points 135

I created the files.

Dimensions 1920x1080

Codecs: Apple ProRes 422 (HQ), Linear PCM I used those same files with Final Cut 7 with no problems And yes, I am using MC 7.04 with Mavericks
  • Wed, Jan 15 2014 8:12 AM In reply to

Were the clips "Clipwrapped" ?

Avid MC 8.3 | OSX 10.8.5 | MacPro 8-Core, 24 GB | HDV/H264/AVCHD/DV/, Sony HVR-Z1/Z7, Canon EOS [view my complete system specs]

Ervz Tia | Video Productions