Latest post Thu, Jul 7 2011 4:40 PM by jef. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jul 6 2011 2:30 PM

• Mahbooty
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jul 6 2011
    • Posts 2
    • Points 70

Why AvidDS ?

Hello!

I was just introduced to AvidDS the other day and had some basic questions...

- Why use AvidDS? If I already know and use Media Composer and After Effects.

- Why aren't the features in DS in updates of Media Composer and/or Symphony? Why do I have to switch over to another piece of software?

- Why only Windows? Our studio uses Macs with Media Composer & Symphony with Nitris DX hardware, a Unity system and most computers have After Effects on them.

I've been using Media Composer for around 4 years now. I tried the DS software and the interface has none of the features that Media Composer has. Right off the bat, it is like learning a completely new piece of software. It is a bear to navigate and, aesthetically speaking, is probably the worst design I've ever seen in a program.

I'm hoping somebody can shed some light on the questions I have.

Thanks!

• Wed, Jul 6 2011 2:37 PM In reply to

Re: Why AvidDS ?

DS is a different piece of software it's heritage goes back before Avid days.

Since Avid Acquired the product they have done work to the interface and functionality to help bring it into the Avid family but under the skin it's nothing like a Symphony or Media Composer.

Many features will seem much less sophisticated than Media Composer many are leaps and bounds beyond what MC can do.

Some of the strengths are that it can read Media Composer/Symphony MXF media directly so it's very easy to send a Media Composer Sequence direct to DS with all the media and have a DS Sequence that pretty much matches your MC one (not everything comes across completely)

The effects tree is awesome in DS MC has nothing like it AE has something better than MC but still not a mark on what DS can do.