Latest post Sat, Jul 2 2011 4:33 PM by Jeanaro. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Sep 28 2010 3:51 PM

• sydak
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Sep 28 2010
    • Posts 6
    • Points 100

help!!! Offline editing + online editing

Hi guys, I am relatively new to avid and offline editing features.

Could some one explain how to make an offline editing on a pc and then do the online editing and all the finishing touches on a mac step-by-step.

The reason I need this is that all the rough cuts will be made outside the UK. The footage copy will be uploaded to the office and the originals will stay in the UK. I am working on 5D mk2 footage if that helps.

Please could someone post a tutorial, this would be very helpful.

PS. Both machines will be running avid 5.0

Filed under: , , ,
  • Tue, Sep 28 2010 5:14 PM In reply to

Re: help!!! Offline editing + online editing

sydak:
    Could some one explain how to make an offline editing on a pc and then do the online editing and all the finishing touches on a mac step-by-step.

That's asking a lot isn't it? (Can someone explain how to rebuild a transmission in a '64 Mustang step-by-step?)

There are a lot of steps and a lot of factors involved, too many to give in a venue such as this.  We have no idea of your level of experience/comfort with the Avid Offline->Online workflow (other than your admission to being "new to Avid" and offline editing features)

I guess the only place to start is to ask, at what point in the process are you?  Has the footage been imported?  If so, to what codec?  

Honestly, you may be better off employing the help of someone experienced with the Avid Offline-Online process to be on-hand to guide you along the way.  There are just too many factors involved to write it all out step-by-step.