Latest post Tue, Jun 8 2010 8:56 AM by camoscato. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Jun 7 2010 9:35 PM

• Lance
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jan 16 2006
    • Michigan
    • Posts 77
    • Points 1,085

Installation: beginner question

Ok, I'm almost ready to go.... :)

Background: A few weeks ago I received my MC4 production suite in the mail (huge discount on upgrade from Liquid), and it looks inviting sitting there on my shelf!  I registered it; no problems.

Last week Dell was having a sale ($400 off!) so I ordered a Dell T3500 qualified machine; it should arrive soon!

(Such great deals, and yet I'm wondering how I am out several thousand dollars? Especially when we really need a new couch -- lol)

I've explored and follow this forum, so I'm eager and ready to move from Liquid to MC...  I'm just a hobbyist, with a huge load of Mini-DVs, many HD.

With that background, please be understanding with my question:

Where do I start? 

I watched a few of Douglas' training videos (really cool, and fun for me; my daughter thinks I'm incredibly nerdy), and I saw the links to others, but my question is more basic than that.  When my computer arrives, I want to install everything properly the first time.  Maybe it doesn't matter with MC, I just seem to recall that certain settings selected during the initial install was important in Liquid (although could usually be fixed later). 

I have a fairly intimidating box of several DVD's and thick books.  Plus I see MC4 and several other software items, most of which I don't understand what they're for.  (Boris? Sorenson Squeeze?  Nitris?  Mojo?  Symphony? Adrenaline?  Avid MC vs. Avid FX?  Some disk I don't even understand what's in it?) 

I plan to skip MC4 and just download MC5 when it's available.  When MC5 is available, should I just open one of the install manuals and follow it for MC5 and all of the software in the box?  Should I start now with the other software?