Latest post Mon, Apr 22 2013 3:05 AM by abrams1130. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Jan 26 2009 11:38 PM

• iredato
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jan 26 2009
    • Posts 2
    • Points 30

Can't play video clips (but audio is OK) - arrrrrrrrrrrgh!

I'm very new to Avid Xpress Pro and seem to be banging my head against the proverbial brick wall here. Since I can't seem to find any solutions via Google or in browsing the forums here.. I'm hoping that someone might be able to point me in the right direction.

I have a lot of video shot with a Canon Optura Pi DV cam in 30p. Avid doesn't have a 30p setting (that I could find), so I captured it as a 30i project. The problem that I am seeing is that the captured clips won't play in the monitor (composer) window. The clips play & audio is fine, but I just see the first frame, rather than video motion. I can step through the frames & there are 30 frames per second present. And if I export the clip as a quicktime movie, the exported movie plays fine. I've re-imported the clips several times with the same results, so it doesn't seem to be corrupt files. A friend that works with Final Cut Pro is able to import & play the video without any issues. But he's not familiar with Avid, so I'm still a bit baffled. Am I missing something obvious here? It's really hard to compose/edit/trim clips when you can't watch them. I'm not sure if the problem is at all related to the original video being shot in progressive scan or if it's just some egregious error on my part. Any insights or workarounds would be enormously appreciated.

Windows XP Pro, Avid Xpress Pro 5.7, QT 7.4 Pro Dell e1705 ;Intel T7200 (2.0Ghz, dual core)/4GB RAM/200GB,7200rpm Seagate int. 2x 500GB, 7200rpm seagate... [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Jan 27 2009 12:37 AM In reply to

Re: Can't play video clips (but audio is OK) - arrrrrrrrrrrgh!

Most times when you're having that issue, it's video card related.