Latest post Fri, Mar 14 2008 5:45 PM by camoscato. 62 replies.
Page 1 of 5 (63 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Nov 14 2007 11:37 AM

• grayboy
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Halifax, West Yorkshire
    • Posts 518
    • Points 6,765

The art of editing

Locked Contact
    This forum is great for getting help with the mechanics of editing, (how to add a video track, use keyframes, what graphics card to avoid, field order problems,  etc etc).  Just as important, more so in fact, is the art editing. 

I am as much self taught as trained, and I know some of the tricks of editing, but I feel like there must be many more that I dont know.  Some of the things I know are like 'rules'.  Three that come to mind without giving it too much thought are
    • never cut to or from a moving shot,
    • dont cross the line
    • in an interview 'ums' and 'errs' are ok as long as the interviewee is in shot, but not when they are  speaking over a cutaway.
    • a shot must be a minimum of 3 seconds
    These are basic documentary style 'rules', and I have broken them all, particularly the 3 second rule,  but its useful to start from solid ground before you venture into the unknown. 

So anybody else got any do's or dont's, or techniques that they would like to share.  Not just 'rules', but also techniques. 

Graham
    MC ver3. HPxw8400 Intel R Xeon quad core 5150@2.66Ghz. 3Gb ram. Xp Pro 4.6 Service Pack 2Pentium 2.8 GHZ2GB Ram Matrox Millenium G550 dual display80GB... [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Nov 14 2007 1:22 PM In reply to

Re: The art of editing

Locked Contact

"Rules are made to be broken."