Latest post Sun, Apr 28 2019 7:27 PM by Terry Snyder. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Apr 24 2019 9:15 PM

• spyderrp7
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Oct 28 2011
    • Posts 11
    • Points 135

White balance with slider? Warm/Cool

Hi I'm new to Media Composer. I searched the Color Correction Tools and all the FX and couldn't find an easy way to change the image from Warm to Cool and versa. Isn't it really somewhere? Maybe I have missed it somewhere?

Filed under:
  • Thu, Apr 25 2019 4:49 PM In reply to

Re: White balance with slider? Warm/Cool

Did you shoot a white card?   Or do you have any part of the shot that is white?  If so, the easiest way is to go to the Hue Offsets in the HSL tab in the Color Correction tool.  Use the eyedropper underneath the Master color wheel to remove the color cast, which essentially white balances the shot.  If there's no white in the shot to sample, I use the Master color wheel and drag it in the opposite direction--in your case from warm to cool.    Other folks use the curves, but for an overall quick correction, I prefer the color wheels. 

MC 2018.4 with Symphony, Matrox MX02 Mini Max, Win 7 Pro, HP Z800 2x6-Core 3.2Ghz Xeon, 48GB ram, Quadro K4200, SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD as system drive... [view my complete system specs]

I have a fantastic editing assistant.  He stays by my side when I edit...doesn't talk too much...and thinks I'm a genius!    Check him out here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQVkYaaPO6g

• Thu, Apr 25 2019 5:53 PM In reply to

• DJFio[DB]
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Nov 3 2005
    • Moscow Russia
    • Posts 275
    • Points 3,635

in theory: 

warm and cool are the ratio of red and blue in the picture. drag blue curve down and red curve up - and get warmer color. cooler - is the opposite. tint  green/cyan - drag green curve around.