Latest post Thu, Jul 28 2016 4:48 PM by Marianna. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Jul 28 2016 12:29 AM

• Bromby
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 26 2016
    • Posts 11
    • Points 155

Media Composer Trial version- unable to use different modes

I am new to AVID and I am having toubles understanding what would cause me to not be able to use the different mode buttons? For the longest time I was stuck in source record mode and not able to switch to Edit mode. I accidentally triggered it to go into Edit mode but I don't know how? When I try to select a different mode I get "the button cannot be changed" I've read through all sorts of instructions and can't find a solution? I can't seem to use any of the buttons on the timeline window other than a select few. I'm on a mac 10.11.3 running the newest version of Media composer 8. What am I missing?

Thank you

• Thu, Jul 28 2016 8:21 AM In reply to

Re: Media Composer Trial version- unable to use different modes

Hi,

Are you trying to click on the source/record buttons on the command palette? That would cause the "button cannot be changed" warning. The command palette is used when you're remapping your keyboard or changing buttons in the user interface; not when you want to invoke a command.

Bromby:
    For the longest time I was stuck in source record mode and not able to switch to Edit mode.

In Avid, source/record mode is the mode you use for editing. The other modes are trim mode for when you need to make small adjustments, effects mode for working with effects, and color correction mode for color correcting.

I hope that helps.

Media Composer 2018.12.1 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Envy 17t-j100 Quad Edition laptop, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7 2.4GHz, 16 GB RAM, nVidia GeForce... [view my complete system specs]