Latest post Sun, Feb 14 2016 9:18 AM by ulrikhvid@gmail.com. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Feb 8 2016 6:28 PM

"Segmentation fault" occurs during color grading

Hi

I'm relatively new to Avid and have run into some trouble in my most recent project when trying to color grade. Color Correction will occasionally not react, and when I continuously try to make it work, I will eventually get the famous error message; "segmentation fault in thread mainthread at address 0x0".

Though things work alright 75% of the time, some clips refuse to be graded. I highlight the correct video track, open color correction mode, and try to make a correction. But whenever I move a slider or anything else, it will either tell me "Only CC Correction mode can be applied to filler" (now there's no doubt I have highlighted the right track, and that theres a video track on that track under the cursor) or worse, I will get the above error message, MC will freeze, and I will have to force quit it. Anyone tried anything like this before?

This short film has been shot on an old Hi8 camera (for artistic reasons), and I have had professionals digitize the footage. Project settings are 720p/50, editing timebase is 25 fps. The clips I'm working with are imported to ProRes 720. OS is 10.11.1 and MC version is 8.3.1 with Symphony option.

I tried clearing the database, which was the only advice I could find on google. No luck.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

• Mon, Feb 8 2016 6:41 PM In reply to

Re: "Segmentation fault" occurs during color grading