Latest post Wed, Jan 8 2014 5:14 PM by Marianna. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 8 2014 1:54 AM

• topleft
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jan 8 2014
    • Posts 2
    • Points 40

Transferring between MC 6 & 7

Hi everyone,

I am a student and have recently started working with AVID. I am cutting a short film that I started on an owned copy of MC 6.5 in my school's editing suite. Since then I had (foolishly) downloaded the 30 day AVID MC 7 trial on my Mac at home, where I continued to edit the short. Since then I have had to transfer my project back to the 6.5 version of MC  and have been a lot of trouble doing so.

I have tried a few things, so sorry for my ignorance on the subject, but hopefully someone can help. One thing I just thought of was to create an EDL of my master sequence (which I have just done) and I was hoping I'd be able to rebuild the sequence in 6.5, since I still have access to all of my transcoded clips (just not the sequences). Can anybody tell me if this will work?

Another thought was to Consolidate my master sequence and open the 'Consolidated bin' in a new project in the 6.5 version, and re-transcode & link the footage. Would this be a possibility as well?

Someone please let me know if I am on the right track with either of these two routes, or if there is a better and/or easier way to accomplish this. Thanks!

P.S. I am not able to install a patch update on the school's computer with 6.5. In both cases I am working with Mac Pro's and 1 external drive for the project (everything is backed up elsewhere)

• Wed, Jan 8 2014 2:05 AM In reply to

• jef
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Feb 26 2006
    • Maryland
    • Posts 3,312
    • Points 40,085

Re: Transferring between MC 6 & 7

I am curious as to what problems you are having.