Latest post Fri, Sep 5 2014 8:45 PM by mdombros. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Oct 2 2013 6:50 PM

• ranimmo
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Jul 27 2013
    • Posts 7
    • Points 85

Transcode Error "Upstream pipe stall"

Okay, I am new to avid, and I am about ten seconds away from asking for my money back and editing on premiere.  I have spent two days now trying to get this software to work and I haven't even gotten any clips into a timeline yet.  This is ridiculous.

I am trying to transcode 165 F65 RAW files to DNxHD proxies.  I have all the files AMA linked and they work great.  But they are 4K RAW files.  So playback is not the best.  I am trying to transcode DNxHD Proxies and everytime I do I get the following error message:

"Exception: NEMFileWriter:: ExecuteInternal TIMEOUT - NEMFileWriter has detected upstream pipe stall..."

Great.  Whatever that means.  I can't seem to find any answers on how to solve this.  It isn't because I have too many files, I only 165. I have the correct Nvidia drivers that come with Media Composer.  There is plenty of space on the destination drive.  I have tried to send the files to my 3TB internal RAID, to my 1TB SSD OS Drive, and to my 2TB Internal Media Drive.  None of them work.  I have tried rebooting, reinstalling.  I have tried all the various DNxHD compression rates.  None work.  At one point it managed to transcode five files before dumping out again.

What the *** avid?  Can someone please tell me what this error message means and how I can fix it?

Here are my computer specs:

2x Intel Xeon E5-2640 Six Core Processors

32GB RAM

Nvidia Quadro 4000

Nvidia Quadro K2000

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1

Media Composer 7.0.2

Does anyone have any idea what would be causing this?

• Thu, Oct 3 2013 9:54 AM In reply to

• Vilem
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Apr 10 2010
    • Prague
    • Posts 1,399
    • Points 15,405