Latest post Fri, May 3 2013 5:32 AM by AndrewAction. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Apr 30 2013 10:37 PM

Typewriter Effect for Text, How-To

I have a segment of text that I created in MC 5. I made the text in Marquee and I want the text to have a typewriter effect, each letter appearing after the other in the paragraph. I've gone to scripts and tried the type-on script but when I double click on the script it gives me an error report and shuts down Marquee. Is the Avid software data for the scripts corrupt/missing or am I just doing something wrong?

Any tips would be appreciated, I am really new to the software and am just looking for an easy typewriter effect.

XP Professional Version 2002, SP3 Intel Xeon 5150 @2.66 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, May 1 2013 6:27 AM In reply to

• Marianna
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Avid
    • Posts 10,204
    • Points 218,090
    • Avid Beta Moderators
      Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Developer Moderator
      BlogAuthor
      SystemAdministrator

Re: Typewriter Effect for Text, How-To

Patrick Hargrove:
    I have a segment of text that I created in MC 5.

Patrick,

As you have MC 5 it is not certain that you have Avid FX (shipped previously with boxed copies of the 32bit version of MC - now a free download with MC 6.x) Previously it was part of the Productivity Suite of Plugins (now no longer available) Can still be bought from BorisFX inc. But as a newcomer I doubt that you are prepared to spend more money - yet.

What I am leading up to is that with Avid FX the tyewriter effect would be very easy to accomplish from start to finish. In fact, I have a couple of video tutorials on just that topic.
    I am not at all sure how you do it in Marquee, BUT I am sure it can be done and someone will probably drop in here shortly and explain it to you.

Good luck with your continued learning of MC.

Regards,
    Douglas