Latest post Sat, Feb 16 2013 11:21 PM by jwrl. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Feb 16 2013 4:34 AM

Title color issues and how to save the title

Hey everyone, 

I am new to avid media composer. I am taking a class on how to use the program. However I am moving much faster than the rest of the class. I have figured out how to make titles within avid. However my wite text turns grey when I add into the timeline. I am wondering how to avoid that. And also in what file format would be best. I want to say it's MPEG 50 MXF. But I am not sure. 

Filed under: ,
  • Sat, Feb 16 2013 6:09 AM In reply to

• jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 8,386
    • Points 97,010

Re: Title color issues and how to save the title

bradley.ziegler:
    my wite text turns grey when I add into the timeline.
    It sounds like your white text is actually standard white, while you have super white in your background video.  Standard white on Avid, in common with standard broadcast practice, is roughly 10% lower than the maximum white that can be handled by the system.  This is deliberate and ensures that transient overloads, such as those caued by specular reflections, are not clipped off.

If you're working in standard definition the format used by Avid is known as 601, and if in high definition, 709.  It sounds like you're source material is neither of those, but what is commonly known as RGB.  Strictly speaking it should be called full gamut RGB, but most people using the term are too lazy - hence RGB.

You now have one of two options available to you.  You can either reimport your original media as RGB, in which case Avid will correct the levels for you, or you can grade your footage to correct the levels manually.