Latest post Fri, Feb 8 2013 1:14 PM by Pixel Monkey. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Feb 8 2013 10:21 AM

• S.Clements
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 3 2011
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 809
    • Points 10,720

Can't Online My Show, Because of AMA Linking Problems

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to Avid (about 2 years off and on) and the biggest problem I've had is with the AMA offline/online workflow.  I can never seen to get it to work.  Here's what I did....

A.  I linked to Prores quicktime files via AMA.

B.  I transcoded to DNXHD 36 files, which gave me .new clips

C.  Because this fellow (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rgSF73Msxgc) says you can't use .new clips in your edit (because you can't relink back to your AMA files  from them), I followed his advice to relink the AMA linked files to the transcodes. I've since been told by others that you can use the .new clips in your edit and I've done tests to show it works, but there's a lot of mixed thought out there.  But, this project was started prior to this, so it doesn't matter.

D.  After I was done my offline, I copied it into a new bin called Online and put a copy of the sequence in there and showed all the reference clips.  When I tried to relink to the AMA files, the "allow relinking to AMA files" option had just disappeared from the relinking dialogue box.  I just can't relink to the AMA files.

E.  I followed a forum poster's advice and created a new bin in my project and linked to all the AMA clips.  The person said that that would help with relinking everything back to the AMA clips, but it didn't.  I just get error codes whenever I try relinking.