Latest post Wed, Aug 22 2012 7:32 PM by Pat Horridge. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Aug 22 2012 4:13 PM

• S.Clements
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 3 2011
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 811
    • Points 10,750

Can't Consolidate AMA Linked DSLR Footage?

Hi, Everyone.

I'm relatively new to Avid.  I cut a sequence in Avid MC6 by first ama linking to Canon DSLR h.264 files and then transcoding to DNXHD36 for smoother editing.  Once I finished my edit, I had a devil of a time relinking to the original H.264 files, but somehow I was eventually able to do it.  Once I got to that stage, I hit a roadblock though, because what I wanted to do was consolidtae the project - widdle it down to only the footage I used in the edit - with handlebars (Media Manage to all the FCP users).  But, I found that I could not do this.   I recieved an error message, saying something to the effect that I had to transcode to a native format (or something like that).  So my main question is this: is it simply not possiblle to consolidate the original H.264 footage using Avid Media Composer?  Can you only consolidate a project using an Avid-based codec? 

My workaround was to export an edl from MC6, open in in Adobe Premiere CS6 and then do the consolidate from there.  However, for obvious reasons, this is not a very acceptable way of dealing with the problem.  It would be great to get the official word on this.  Many thanks.

-Scott

Avid Media Composer 8.3.1 Macbook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014) 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB Ram Mac, OS 10.10.2 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Aug 22 2012 4:23 PM In reply to

Re: Can't Consolidate AMA Linked DSLR Footage?

Ah such a simple problem with a simple solution.

You can only consolidate content that MC supports as a native resolution. H264 as used in the DSLR cameras isn't a native MC resolution (it's not available as a media creation choice) so consolidate won't work.