Latest post Tue, Sep 13 2011 10:30 AM by mjolnarn. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Sep 9 2011 2:50 PM

.MOVS in 1080p 50 importing into avid. Help!

Hi!

I'm very new to avid, and i have been working on final cut and premiere pro for a number of years now.

I now work for a TV company as an editor and i have had to learn avid. Its fantastic, it is by far the best system i have used.

I have a small problem, Im editing a Dunkirk documentary, and the company have shot on digibeta which i have captured and started to cut in a 25i sd project, and today i got a hard drive with loads of .MOV files on it from a HD camera. shot at 1080p 50.

I changed my project to a 1080p 50 project so the SD stuff still plays back etc, but each .mov file is around 200mb and is taking 3 mins to import each one. however, there are some that are over 2gb and these are taking 35 mins each...

Is there any way around this? I tried converting some files to h264 for avid a while back and they took just as long to import...

Thankyou in advance, please be nice.

Brad

• Fri, Sep 9 2011 5:03 PM In reply to

• mjolnarn
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 8 2006
    • Sweden
    • Posts 13,346
    • Points 159,335

Re: .MOVS in 1080p 50 importing into avid. Help!

Hi Brad and welcome here.

A first small little question that is important for the rest of your workflow, what is your target publishing goal, SD or HD ?

Mac: 17" Macbook Pro i7 2,66 ghz with 8Gb Ram, 500gb 7200rpm drive___ PC_NEW Win10 Pro Mbo Asus Rampage IV Black CPU Ivy Bridge-E 4960X ( = 12 x 4... [view my complete system specs]

Tomas 

• Sat, Sep 10 2011 1:24 PM In reply to

Hi, yeah sorry about that.

I've changed the project from SD (25i PAL) to HD (1080p 50) because i rang the camera man to ask what he shot on.

I will be exporting in HD. Is that what you were asking?

Cheers!

• Sat, Sep 10 2011 2:59 PM In reply to

• jef
    • Top 50 Contributor